No Days Off

I don’t take many days off. Unless you’re counting the time since I last went to work…then I’ve taken quite a few days off. And it feels good. However, that perspective is coming to an end. After all, as of a few days ago, I’m 24 years of age. I need to focus on the real world. You know, a job, furthering my education, a place of my own, consistent ass. You know, the things that most well-adjusted adults seek.

I’m not sure where buying flamboyant pants come into play, but you should definitely see my pants. They scream “SEEING IS BELIEVING!”

It’s part of my new outlook: The War on Awesome. No, I’m not fighting against Awesome; I’m the last person fighting for Awesome. The reason I came to this conclusion is that I’m the only person I know that pushes the envelope on a regular basis. I’ve been told that if I didn’t develop the appropriate tendencies, I’d be crucified by others. Sure enough, while dancing with a girl, my hands can travel as if I was on vacation. Another guy pulled the same stunt, I called him on it, and the girl shot him a disturbing look. For my public birthday, I wore the shiniest pair of pants (aptly called “disco pants”) ever seen on the dance floor, civilian or performer. And yet, I wore them without hesitation. I’m showing the world that there are no days off (offseason) on the journey to greatness. Or whatever Wrestling’s Greatest Tag Team’s shirt said.

The reason for this is an extension of not being satisfied with the effort around me. People not paying their debts. People making excuses. People not honoring commitments. In short, people operating in bad faith. And the people I’m talking about are my friends, the people I choose to be around. There comes a time when baby steps become nothing more than a talking point. Being tired isn’t an excuse to not succeed. Being fatigued isn’t an excuse to sit out. We make time for things we want to do, and the things we don’t, there are excuses. I’d be perfectly happy with people admitting their faults instead of being…thespians. Not saying I’m perfect, but I’m closer to Awesome than others care to admit. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – John Laurinaitis “Fanfare to the Rule”

Leave a Reply

