After All These Years

I’ll join the world in greeting 2011 in approximately four days, reminiscing over things that went right and things that happened to go sour. From an outsider’s perspective, I’m in a good place; from my perspective, I could have done better. Silly mistakes have cost me the last remnants of my sanity, proof being getting a shaven head with the weather being abnormally frosty. I keep telling myself not to get a Mr. Clean since my head can’t adjust to the cold, but I’m indifferent to how my hair is styled. Yes, cold.

Over the year, I’ve witnessed Salsa Club crippled, friendships dissipate, and my once promising lovelife fall into the abyss after a crushing setback. In other words, this has been one hell of a year. After last year’s end had glimpses of life and success, my social life nosedived this year, and I admit to playing the main role in my own downfall. Even when I tried to go into seclusion, there were problems concerning how much I knew and why I took the coward’s way out. I never ran before, so it was strange and unbecoming that I ran. I was tired and scared. Losing wasn’t my thing, and even still, I’m unwelcome in some parts.

Fortunately, there was some success. I survived grad school’s first semester…I think. I taught a wildly popular class that let me be aloof, concerned, and best of all, focused. Being the point man in class was a distant thought, but from what my students think, I did fairly well. I’ve developed relationships with my kids where they trusted me, and I helped them see what they could be…or maybe I’m being melodramatic. Either way, that rocked. I look forward to continuing teaching, and perhaps…improve upon certain things.

I’ve got a new car. I’ll have an apartment. New title belts aren’t out of the question. Christmas left me with Mustang gear, deodorant, and a new phone to stay in contact with everyone. Next year, there will be progress. I’ll rebuild salsa club. I’ll get some of my friends back, and stay close with the few that have consistently had my back. I’ll get the girl…probably. Taking no prisoners is not the mantra, but flat out what I’ll be doing. The memories of this year of all parties involved who helped me, who hurt me, and who showed me what it means to be the greatest man that ever lived…they will be with me in spirit and practice. Two years ago, I had a month where I was on top of the world. This year, I was at my lowest point because I lost most of what I considered dear. Next year will be my finest moment yet. Hell, I survived this year when I didn’t think I wanted to continue; anything that follows should be a piece of cake. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – Ke$ha “We R Who We R”

Leave a Reply

