Talking to the Past

Teaching has been a bit of a headscratcher. Some days are joyous, some are neurotic, and others border on comatose. In other words, teaching is exactly what I need to be doing at this juncture, because I find enjoyment in it. Standing in front of a classroom provides me with my own forum to engage critical thought, share what I know, and hopefully teach along the way. Oddly enough, it’s a place where I can find myself. The last meeting’s topic was interpersonal attraction between the sexes. There were a few comments that were remotely offensive and oddball, but I accepted them all the same. Of course, students want to know more about the person who’s questioning them, so the spotlight was on me. I candidly answered the same questions posed to them, which was only fair. Mr. Guy, what do you like in girls you date? Why aren’t you dating her still? Those sorts of questions, and Pippa was my only thought. I couldn’t help but offer a smile as I walked back through those simple, tumultuous times. Maybe it’s the sobering old man in me that grants me the peace of mind to smile about the chaos. I was asked what I specifically liked about her, and I mentioned I dig a bit of crazy and the ego boost. Borderline personality disorder isn’t supposed to be a turn-on, but hell, the unpredictability helps out. The ego boost isn’t supposed to be as shallow as it sounds; she was my first girlfriend, something I had doubts would arrive. I got a cheap pop when I mentioned that working girl parts is a plus when it comes to the opposite sex. Heh heh heh. I do wonder how things would have turned out if we were able to piece the world together. Another one of the great “what ifs”…I doubt I would’ve been able to own the Shaman of Sexy moniker without her at my side. Of course, the name doesn’t ring hollow, nor does it ring full…but I can’t help but thank her for that. I would like another shot one day to see if we could be fixed. Until then, I’ll let my students teach me about me while I teach them about each other. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – Kate Bush “Running Up That Hill (A Deal with God)”

