Awkward Problems

Normally, I’m the last person to bitch about fatigue. Lately, I feel that’s not the case because I’m more tired than I’ve been in years. With what’s happened in the last couple of days, a bit of personal time would not kill me. Yes, I’ve noticed I’ve become something of a cliche as of late. The last thing I want to become is a self-parody, but I figure by next week, the way I view the world will be very awkward to say the least.

I attribute my energy drain to Long Beach, since I just finished putting in a massive four days of work. Sunday, I chaperoned at a friend’s 21st birthday. That was pretty damn awkward for reasons that will be discussed on my E! True Hollywood Story. The real catch is that I’ve been in training for the last three days to become a teacher. Yes, I’m an official employee of the State of California via the California State University system. Score! I’m also a union member, but this time, I don’t feel like the union is led by incompetent buffoons. Why? Comm majors are in charge! There were a few mock scenarios, and I drew the revealing drug addict during the first day of classes. Now, I would’ve preferred something dirtier, but no, I got druggie. That was awkward, because the first thing I’d like to do is call the authorities and have that miscreant thrown in rehab. According to the rules, I could probably do that, but still, why couldn’t I have a student hit on me? Probably for the same reason that we received a crash course in suicide prevention.

Salsa Club threw an event at the Heritage Museum in Orange County. It was fun and all, could have used more people, but that’s a small worry considering who we have in charge. What was notable was that my favorite second banana was the DJ for the event. Yep, Skylar was back, and there was a ton of catching up to do. The jokes still work, chemistry still flows, and he might have another two years here. I’m starting to think I might get spoiled to know that my next two years here could be stacked with all of my weapons in play. Need sleep. Need an apartment. Don’t need a new outlook on the offense, for the time has come where the world wants me to take a stand. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – Shinedown “Devour”

Leave a Reply

