Treatise on Loyalty

My undergraduate career has come to an official close, pending the turning over of my degree. I think I’ll head back to the university in a couple of days to tell them “cut it out” with regards to some charges they’ve billed me. Biology was a blast, since it left me thinking that I should have highly considered going to class in the spring. However, no senior should face an 8am class, unless of course, that senior happens to be in the hard sciences. In that case, the punishment fits the crime. I scored a 96% on the final, which proves that I am dangerous when I choose to pick my spots. Editor’s note: I didn’t pick my spot here.

Skylar and I seemingly patched things up last week. There are fences that need to be mended, but I’m certain this will have an amicable end for both parties. Damn, that sounded sterile. We did come to a consensus that the past is the past, and whatnot. I guess loyalty accounts for something…ah, loyalty. Loyalty is a weird concept: it is inherently worthless since it is an idea, yet more valuable than weapons-grade uranium. LeBron James decided to take his talents to South Beach, trading Cleveland for Miami. I try not to get too involved with sports since athletes obviously make more than I do, and it is strictly a business. However, the ideal of a star athlete being connected to one city is something to behold. In the past, Bill Russell was the toast of Boston, John Elway presided over Denver, Cal Ripken, Jr. was Baltimore’s iron man, and so on. Modern times, Peyton Manning is synonymous with Indianapolis, Derek Jeter with New York, and Kobe Bryant with Los Angeles. Hell, you could throw Mike Modano with Dallas, despite where he signs. Hell, people refuse to acknowledge Michael Jordan as a Wizard, or Wayne Gretzky with anyone but Edmonton, for good reason. A star becomes attached to his team/city, and the marriage lasts for better and worse. James abandoned his team on national television to become someone’s sidekick. He dismissed himself from the argument for greatest of all time, letting his new hero Dwyane Wade keep hometown hero status. I wanted James to stay in Cleveland, since it would be fitting that the hometown kid helps the home team win a title for the city. If he would have left for Chicago, I would have been satisfied knowing that he really is trying to chase Jordan’s legacy. If he bolted for New York, restoring basketball to prominence is a feat worthy of canonization. You don’t leave your hometown team that nurtured you to be someone else’s sidekick. That is cowardice in the purest form, regardless of how many championships he wins, because he will win. LeBron James did the unthinkable; he made me respect Kobe Bryant to the point where I’m praying he gets seven rings. There’s a special place in hell for those who are disloyal.

Loyalty means a great deal to me, since it bends to the situation we’re in. I consider myself a loyal person, willing to lay down for a friend, or prepare for total warfare for something less than a good reason. Loyalty keeps people strong enough to deal with the choices they make ahead, some suicidal, some for the sake of choosing. Now, to formulate a plan to get Pippa back. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – TV/TV “Smoke and Mirrors”

Leave a Reply

