Deja Vu and LA River Water

I feel like I’ve been here before, or at the very least, looks very similar to a situation I had last year. Quick aside, I haven’t bought a jersey in what seems to be years, but the San Francisco Giants have orange jerseys, and I’m tempted to splurge on one. It qualifies as one of those ridiculous purchases that makes perfect sense for my collection, like the lime green Seahawks jersey I never bought. Anyway, back to the story of being in the same place at the same time.

Last November, it was a date at Alegria while managing the salsa team. Wednesday, it was a date at Sevilla while getting ready to manage the salsa team. November, awkward first kiss after being nailed in the gonads. Wednesday, awkward first kiss after having my foot crushed. Hell, in fact, the only thing that was different this time around was I had alcohol…copious amounts of alcohol. She opened up, I opened up, and voila, the ice is broken. Last time, it took Our Lady Peace to break the ice. The night ended at a late hour outside of the dorms, just like in November. Funny how that works, history repeating itself.

Tomorrow’s the Anniversary, and I’m not sure how I feel. My date backed out on me, and I can’t help but think that’s a good thing as I want to be free to micromanage the event. Also, it’s not quite the date I wanted. There’s just a bit of knowledge that I’m familiar with the level of crazy I had, and I’d gladly take her back to give things another shot. I had the workshops tailored to her interests, while…eh. It hurts thinking about it, to be perfectly honest. I’ve got my legacy waiting to be written in a few short hours, and my head isn’t in the game. When do I not have my head in the game? When I’m nursing a broken heart, of course. Tomorrow will be my coming out party among all things, and I did arrange my attire to suit the purposes. For this spectacle, I will break out the Shaman of Sexy shirt one more time, accented with John Morrison’s glasses, stoned sleeves, sequined shoes, and an armband memorializing Eddie Guerrero. The shirt brought me the girl of my dreams last time; this year, I need some sort of jackpot to help me cope with the tides that rise. But for now, salsa keys the ruins. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – Oscar D’Leon “Lloraras”

Leave a Reply

