Year/Decade in Review

Friday marks the beginning of 2010, a new year and decade…my, does the time fly by quickly. And by fly by, I use that term sarcastically because I can’t seem to differentiate which days and years happened. Frenetic pace aside, I shall begin my (hopefully brief) review on my life to this point.

School is fine. Graduating soon, will be going to grad school. A minor hiccup here and there, but overall, I’m feeling pretty good about myself in that department. Made the best out of what should have been a horrible situation, but CSULB has grown on me like a fungus that I never want to leave. Or at least, I’m heavily considering another two years here for master’s study to potentially cement my legacy as the greatest Dirtbag ever.

Work is fine. Could use a bit more money, but spending addictions are fun to have in certain situations. Probably will leave the customer service sector indefinitely while teaching at grad school, provided I stay here in Long Beach. I’m looking forward to this on many levels. My sentiments are not to spend less, but to find a job that pays me more. Zing.

Love life is debatable. Would have been perfect if I didn’t overthink what was going on. Year-level analysis shows that I’m doing better than decade-level analysis. I intend to make serious strides in the upcoming year/decade about finding someone permanent. I should’ve never listened to Victoria’s plan about wanting to settle down and have children. Now, world domination seems highly secondary to finding a lifelong female comrade. I always figured this would happen much later in life. I’d like to think that where I am right now shows considerable promise, but unfortunately, things are far from easy.

In short, my standards are still high enough where I grade myself a failure for things that are beyond my control. However, I do see a light at the end of the tunnel, and I’m more than willing to use fireworks to collapse the tunnel behind me. Here’s to a new year, and the continuation of a dynasty. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – Prince “1999”

Leave a Reply

