I Stood Alone

I’m no stranger to shenanigans. I wake up every morning and try to figure out how I’m going to be fucked over on a daily basis, and for good reason: shit happens. I am guaranteed quicksand in lieu of dominating my scholastic life. So, it came as no surprise that I had been victimized by identity theft/credit fraud.

Well, it did, but who am I kidding? It was bound to happen eventually. My finances have been incredibly fucked as of late, due to unforeseen circumstances. Oddly, none of them were my fault. Both credit cards are used solely for food and fuel, so anything random is not mine. When I saw three charges for $40, I couldn’t help looking confused, because none of them had “Shell Oil” attached. I called one card, and they promptly started investigating. This was fortunate, because the charges put my card over the limit, leaving me in a massive crunch. The second card was lost (and not just in my car for once), so I was treated to a call at 3:20am asking if I knew what was happening. At that hour, the only thing I knew was that I wasn’t sleeping for a few, so I did my best to follow instructions. In short, I’m stuck between a rock and a hard place, but I trust everything will be settled in a couple of days. Yet, despite what was happening, those were secondary on my list of concerns…

Car registration is due, and I have the money. Well, I have the money if I pay what I should be paying and not an additional $82 fee for a ticket I paid last year. I had to go through hell and high water to get it cleared, but it’s settled after a week of raising hell. I do not mind paying my debt to society, but I mind paying it and not receiving credit. With that said, if a person presents overwhelming proof that it was paid (a bank statement and check copy for argument’s sake), it should be cleared. A clerical error on the part of the processing center should not cost me more money than necessary. Anyhow, I convinced them to fix it after bitching and threatening to take half of the campus in a lawsuit.

In lighter news, I’m rocking both of my classes with reckless abandon. I’ll be departing this summer session with at least a 3.75, and I’m filing for one more hell semester in the fall. Victory shall be mine, and that will eventually include financial stability. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – Eminem feat. Dr. Dre “Old Time’s Sake”

1 Comment

  1. Dear Anthony,Did you know that the words in this comment box are white as well? I have to highlight them to read them.I seem to recall this from before, though. Anyway, since I think I was also the one who screwed up the color codes to begin with, would you like me to fix it for you?But about your entry. That’s awful about your credit cards. I hope it doesn’t go beyond this and that all clears up soon.Congratulations on the GPA and early graduation. I wish I could graduate in the fall, too. (Well, if I had my choice I’d already have graduated.) I haven’t seen you in forever!

Leave a comment