Conspiracy of One: Fired

At three o’clock yesterday, Starbucks terminated my employment yesterday. Tough times, but most likely, it was for the best. It was one of those things that I saw coming, like being led like a cow to the slaughter. Needless to say, I persisted until the final bell tolled. Coworkers will definitely be missed; I wonder if they’ll remember what I brought to the table. I’ll know that my memory was honored if I hear someone died from a faulty drink.

The situation presented to me was remotely disturbing, as of course, I was in the wrong, he was in the wrong, etc. Although we are still friends, knowing the outcome, I probably should’ve just given him the Code Breaker and made it worth my while. Try explaining that one to Human Resources…”well, he ran at me, jumped and clutched my head to his knee, and fell backwards. No, I’m not exactly sure how it hurt me, but I just know it was wrong…”

Management was gracious, although I still felt led on. I’d rather have known this previously, but what the hell? At least when the verdict was read, I was calm and resolved to my fate. My severance package was sufficient for me to rest on my laurels for a month, but I won’t. I want another occupation as fast as possible, because I’m getting bored. Not to mention the fact that I have a stiff car note.

Last note: it’s ironic that I’ve patched up things with everyone before I was released. I thought people only did that before they died. Unless, that means soon that I’m going to…nah, impossible. I didn’t even get fired for the right reasons, so I doubt I’m going quietly into that good night. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – The Fray “How to Save a Life”

Leave a Reply

