Conspiracy of One: Civil War Victorious

Listen, you want a class on tradition? On one condition, forget the best of the century; when you talk about the best of all time, you’d better mention me.

There is nothing better than winning, especially when the path taken has been a pain in the ass. I’m not an easy guy to deal with when I feel mildly disrespected. However, I take the Belichick method to a new extreme: I don’t bend, and I sure as hell don’t break. In the last week, I’ve gotten two apologies from the opposition. I’d rather not fight with two comrades, but if I must, I see no reason to restrain my true ability. Considering the stress I’ve been under, I did what was in the best interest of the only one who mattered: me. At the end of the day, look out for number one, because numbers two and three are unremarkable.

Both started with misunderstanding of policy. I thought we were on the same page, and I was proven incorrect. One tried a sophisticated variant of my Basic Offense, and another used a more straightforward approach. I would have rather not chosen to engage in such a manner that alienates me from the rest, but if I’m going to take a side, I’m either dead left or dead right. The middle road is a fine line between win or lose. I always pick a side for one stiff point:

I do not lose.

Taking into account, I thought I may have challenged myself too much on the issues, but then, I stopped overthinking myself. One party decided that my point had merits, and stood down. The other party realized trying to cost me my job was fruitless, because he jeopardized his own well being; thus, the obligation to make amends. I don’t always seek to start battles, but if I’m engaged, I will not lose.

Maybe now, I can start eating properly. I’ve driven myself weak enough that my coworkers have asked me if finals have come early. In other words, unintentional weight loss indicates stress. No matter, I’ve won. No more meddling or coddling. I will play the game the way it is supposed to be played. Why do I play?

I play to win the game. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – Goo Goo Dolls “What A Scene”

Leave a Reply

