Conspiracy of One: Tango Collapse

I committed a sin by my standards today: I inadvertently injured a dance partner. True enough, she had completed the same sequence ten seconds before; it was unexpected that the second time would be painful. Ballerinas can jump high in the air and all that stuff, but shoes can be a killer. It figures that the one time someone gets put on the shelf, it would be for dancing with me.

Normally, I’d be a bit gleeful knowing that my moves could take an experienced practitioner to task, but it broke my heart to see her on the ground in pain. The moment stood still as I stood watching it unfold. She took it pretty well, or considering, better than I did. In a rush to conclusion, I was just about ready to drop the class, or at the very least, cease movement for the rest of the class. My friends convinced me it was a freak accident, so I swiftly returned to do what I do best, minus one choreographed step.

Jordan got screwed over today at work, but handled it pretty well. The last time my job screwed me over, I offered an unsolicited vociferous rebuke. I’m pretty sure once he meets the person responsible for this, he could channel a bit of my negative energy into a comprehensive strike.

Valentine’s Day is around the corner, and as expected, I’m on the outside looking in. I wager it could be worse, but not necessarily sure how. On second thought, I could come home to see my ridiculously immature roommate being ridiculously immature. However, since I gave him thirty minutes to negotiate with a girl after I had a contentious shift at work, I’m sure I’d be less hospitable this time around. In fact, if he mentions anything to me in any matter not resembling sobriety, I may just have to cane him. But now, I must consider the alternatives, which mean preparing for work and the new conquest. That, and spicing up my dance steps, because I’m sure Amy will be back in a couple of weeks, and who knows, I may be first on her list.

I’ll be damned if I didn’t see that coming the first time I locked her in closed position a year ago. No really, I saw it coming. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – Britney Spears “Piece of Me”

Leave a Reply

