Conspiracy of One: Beach Ball

Last night, short of getting action, was freaking awesome. I thought last year’s dance was a spectacle to behold, but this year was really…I needed it. I brought my A-game as I was surrounded by A-listers.

Early morning, I woke up with anticipation of things to come. To start it off, there was the matter of picking up refreshments for the soiree. I was joined by Maribel, who proved to be one heck of a shopper. We were severely under budget, yet we were stocked for most of the night.  I figure one could guess that we shopped at Costco. My committee was composed of very task-oriented people, or at the least, enthused about getting the show put on swiftly.

Seeing as I still had blue hair, I opted for a wardrobe that could only be described as a “blue-out”. At first, people didn’t understand the concept, but they sure enough felt it by the end of the night. Not overly dressed, but definitely worthy of being called an instant classic. While suiting up, I threw on some music to give a mild cinematic feel…slowly arranging my hair, kicking on the shoes, sporting the glasses, and wearing the belt for shits and giggles. With that said, I had fruit trays to deliver to the show.

When I was there, people understood the rock star had arrived, as my fans and rivals greeted me with casual aplomb. With friends, we discussed the scenario, fun to be had, and timing; with rivals, going over moves in basic layout, then offering guarantees to slaughter each other during competition. Anything short of that would be treason, I’m sure.

An hour after the party commenced, the party started. I had a couple of memorable swing songs where I basically taught myself a couple of new formats, which were fun and crowd-pleasing. I barely left the floor when there was music, except for air and salsa, because I still have a long way to go for my salsa to be as good as swing. Then the real fun occurred: line dances.

My rivals and I were all spent due to the pacing of the night, but we all sprinted to the front of the room to lead everyone into battle. Throwing tricky kicks, spins, and a couple of odd chants, we were the body that rocked the party. All in fun, we hugged afterwards because damn it, we had fun. We got together a couple more times for freestyle, including a circle that I was the final attraction by nailing the most electrifying move in sports-entertainment today:

THE. ONE-HANDED. CARTWHEEL.

The crowd goes apeshit. APESHIT. That night was a cinematic masterpiece. I even managed to help a few people learn a couple of steps, reminding them it isn’t about knowledge, it’s about attitude. Charisma can cover up any mistake, such as the first time I slid to the ground and faceplanted. Of course, I sold it like I planned it. Good night, good fight. Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – Nickelback “See You At The Show”

Leave a comment