Conspiracy of One: After Katie

The last few days have been exceedingly dreadful. I had to say goodbye to one of my favorite coworkers as she heads for greener pastures. Aja definitely gave me a lesson in determination. The road may not always be easy, but constant vigilance never fails. With that said, closing and waking early to work is not the best platform for success. Not only that, it’s a bitch on my demeanor.

However, the story begins and ends with a girl I met at work. Her name is Katie, and her drink is quadruple-shot-two-pump-vanilla-latte-on-ice. I really liked her and all that jazz. Best yet, I felt there was a bit of mutual attraction. As a tribute to Aja, I planned to ask Katie out during Sunday’s shift. Unbeknownst to us, fate would not have her pay a visit. I did get my chance yesterday betwixt field trips. She was in Robek’s, and I was picking up coffee. I pulled her out, we made smalltalk, and I recalled the poem I wrote from memory:

Two pumps vanilla
Four shots espresso
One iced latte
Made for someone special
You’re a graphic designer
I make drinks
We could illustrate the perfect date
What do you think?

She thought it was the cutest thing. She also has had a boyfriend for two months. Shot down again, yet it didn’t feel that bad. In fact, I felt nothing afterwards. I guess I had the situation I needed, and it was the luck of the draw. No hard feelings, just a challenge for another aim. On a funnier, scripted note, the song I heard afterwards was “Superman” by Lazlo Bane, cued up to “I can’t do this all on my own.”

On the other end of the spectrum, I’m still single and very inexperienced in having a significant other. A coworker’s Freudian slip reminded me of this situation. I was blindly using the term “fuck buddy” and she stated that’s basically what her relationship with her last boyfriend amounted to in the waning days. It made me pretty sad, knowing that hell, I was there, and would not have been heartless to let a good thing like a decent relationship devolve as such. The luck some people have, while others long for the opportunity. Meh, a challenge for another aim.

Skibbedebebop. Much later.

Current Track – Lazlo Bane “Superman”

Leave a Reply

